A book a week…A literary challenge

Perusing Twitter the other day, I came across the following tweet about reading and its importance in helping you become an expert in your chosen field.

Screen Shot 2015-05-06 at 2.07.12 PM

As a newbie in the field of international relations, and to be honest feeling quite lost and less than knowledgeable after graduating from university, this simple idea appealed to me. New grads are thrown so many different pieces of advice (and many cringe-worthy lectures about the power of networking), rather than being helpful, this advice can overwhelm and lead to a general feeling of hopelessness. This literary challenge was something different. All I had to do was read one book a week (yay reading!), with the hopes that reading (and sharing on this blog) would clarify my ambitions and dreams and lead me to become some kind of “expert”.

Feel free to follow along as I read, read, read and share my thoughts on the process, starting with Michelle Shephard’s “Decade of Fear” (review coming soon…). And please comment below if you think of a book that I absolutely must read.

Leave a Reply

